You're using a browser that Campus Bielefeld doesn't yet fully support.
DE | EN

Foto Campus Bielefeld

Developer, planner, client and investor

Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW

The Bielefeld branch of Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW (BLB NRW) is the developer, planner, client and investor behind the construction work at Campus Bielefeld.

Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW’s Bielefeld branch has a staff of about 240 and looks after all the properties owned by the State of North Rhine-Westphalia in the city of Bielefeld and in the districts of Gütersloh, Herford, Lippe, Höxter, Minden-Lübbecke and Paderborn. Leases for a total of approx. 1.1 million square metres of office, laboratory and separate use space break down between universities and colleges, police stations, judicial administration, prisons, fiscal administration and other state authorities.

BLB NRW manages and runs the buildings and sites and carries out life cycle maintenance. Its remit also includes the development, planning and construction of new buildings and extensions to meet the state’s working space requirements.

Handling the building requirements of the Federal Armed Forces and foreign armed forces on behalf of the Federal Republic of Germany is another major area of responsibility for BLB’s Bielefeld branch.

The staff have been based at August-Bebel-Straße 91, Bielefeld, since November 2009. This prominently sited functional new building enables all the main areas of expertise of the Bielefeld branch to be brought together at one place. The branch is headed by architect Heinrich Micus.

The Campus Bielefeld construction projects are THE university projects of the first half of the 21st century, just as the 1970s buildings were THE university buildings of the last century. For everyone currently involved, this will be the biggest construction project of their lives. That’s an incentive – and a challenge.

Heinrich Micus
Manager, Bielefeld branch,
Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW

About the development of Campus Bielefeld

BLB NRW has actively pursued the Campus Bielefeld project since 2006 in cooperation with Bielefeld City Council and the universities. Right from the beginning the aim has been to make Bielefeld more competitive as a higher education location, with a view to the long term.

In 2007/2008 a cooperative competition marked the breakthrough for the development of Campus North, with a high level of public involvement in the planning process. Local residents, academic staff, students and other Bielefeld stakeholders took part in four lively public forums held at Bielefeld’s Ringlokschuppen to generate ideas - a productive form of planning process that served as a model for the region.

On 22 June 2007 the panel of judges chose the winner of the town-planning competition to develop Campus North. Town planners/architects Döll - Atelier voor Bouwkunst b.v., Rotterdam, Netherlands, and GTL Gnüchtel Triebswetter Landschaftsarchitekten, Kassel, beat four other teams in this open competition.

Panel of judges
The panel sat in a closed session on 22 June 2007. The members were:

  • Prof. Carl Fingerhuth, Zurich (CH)
  • Prof. Christl Drey, Kassel
  • Prof. Klaus Daniels, Munich
  • Manfred Hegger, Kassel, represented by Prof. Gesine Weinmiller, Berlin
  • Prof. Ivan Reimann, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Schmidt, Stuttgart
  • Heinrich Micus, Branch Manager, BLB NRW Bielefeld
  • Heiner Sommer, BLB NRW/Düsseldorf Head Office
  • Gregor Moss, official, Building/Planning Department, Bielefeld City Council
  • Dieter Grömling, Munich
  • Eberhard David, Mayor of Bielefeld (CDU)
  • Ferdinand Tiggemann, former Manager, BLB NRW/Düsseldorf Head Office
  • Dankfried Köttig, BLB NRW/Düsseldorf Head Office
  • Dr. Karoline Friemann, Ministry of Construction and Transport, State of North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Michael Hoppe, Ministry of Innovation, Science, Research and Technology (MIWFT), State of NRW
  • Prof. Dr. Beate Rennen-Allhoff, Principal, Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Timmermann, Rector, University of Bielefeld, represented by Hans-Jürgen Simm, Vice-Chancellor, University of Bielefeld
  • Hans-Georg Fortmeier, SPD parliamentary party, Bielefeld
  • Ralf C. Nettelstroth, CDU parliamentary party, Bielefeld
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Riemenschneider, Münster, represented by Gehsa Schnier, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences

Town planners / Architects:
Döll - Atelier voor Bouwkunst b.v.,
Rotterdam | Netherlands

Landscape architect:
GTL Gnüchtel Triebswetter Landschaftsarchitekten,
Kassel | Germany

You're using a browser that Campus Bielefeld doesn't yet fully support.
DE | EN

Foto Campus Bielefeld

Entwickler, Planer, Bauherr und Investor

Der Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW

Mit seiner Niederlassung Bielefeld ist der Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW (BLB NRW) Entwickler, Planer, Bauherr und Investor baulicher Maßnahmen auf dem Campus Bielefeld.

Der Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW betreut in seiner Niederlassung Bielefeld mit etwa 240 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern die Immobilien des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen in der Stadt Bielefeld sowie in den Kreisen Gütersloh, Herford, Lippe, Höxter, Minden-Lübbecke und Paderborn. Mietverträge für insgesamt etwa 1,1 Millionen Quadratmeter Büro-, Labor- und Sondernutzungsflächen teilen sich in Hochschulen, Polizeidienststellen, Justizverwaltung, Justizvollzug, Finanzverwaltung und weitere Landesbehörden auf. 

Der BLB NRW bewirtschaftet und betreibt die Gebäude und Grundstücke und hält sie über den Lebenszyklus instand. Hinzu kommt die Entwicklung, Planung und Errichtung von Neu- und Erweiterungsbauten. Damit wird der Flächenbedarf des Landes angepasst. 

Ein zusätzliches weiteres großes Aufgabengebiet der BLB-Niederlassung Bielefeld ist die Erledigung des Baubedarfes der Bundeswehr und der ausländischen Streitkräfte im Auftrag der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. 

Seit November 2009 arbeiten die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter am Standort August-Bebel-Straße 91 in Bielefeld. Der funktionale Neubau in exponierter Lage bietet die Möglichkeit, alle wesentlichen Kompetenzen der Niederlassung Bielefeld an einem Standort zu bündeln. Leiter der Niederlassung ist der Architekt Heinrich Micus.

Die Bauprojekte des Campus Bielefeld sind DIE Hochschulprojekte in der ersten Hälfte des 21. Jahrhunderts, so wie die Bauten der 1970er Jahre DIE Hochschulbauten des letzten Jahrhunderts waren. Für alle diejenigen, die jetzt hieran mitwirken, wird es das größte Bauvorhaben ihres Lebens sein. Das ist Ansporn und Anspruch zugleich.

Heinrich Micus
Ehem. Leiter Niederlassung Bielefeld,
Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW

Zur Entwicklungsgeschichte des Campus Bielefeld

In Kooperation mit der Stadt Bielefeld und den Hochschulen verfolgt der BLB NRW das Projekt Campus Bielefeld intensiv seit 2006. Ziel war es von Anfang an, die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Hochschulstandortes Bielefeld nachhaltig zu stärken.

Ein kooperatives Wettbewerbsverfahren brachte 2007/2008 den Durchbruch für die Entwicklung des Campus Nord, die Öffentlichkeit wurde intensiv in die Planungen eingebunden. Anwohner, Hochschulangehörige, Studierende und weitere interessierte Bielefelder Bürgerinnen und Bürger beteiligten sich in vier öffentlichen Foren im Bielefelder Ringlokschuppen intensiv an der Ideenfindung – eine produktive Form der Planungskultur, die Modellcharakter für die Region hatte. 

Am 22. Juni 2007 befand das Preisgericht über den Sieger des städtebaulichen Wettbewerbs zur Entwicklung des Campus Nord. Die Städteplaner/Architekten Döll - Atelier voor Bouwkunst b.v., Rotterdam, Niederlande, und GTL Gnüchtel Triebswetter Landschaftsarchitekten, Kassel, setzten sich im offenen Bewerbungsverfahren gegen vier weitere Teams durch.

Das Preisgericht
Das Preisgericht tagte in einer nicht-öffentlichen Sitzung am 22. Juni 2007. Mitglieder waren:

 

  • Prof. Carl Fingerhuth, Zürich (CH)
  • Prof. Christl Drey, Kassel
  • Prof. Klaus Daniels, München
  • Manfred Hegger, Kassel, vertreten durch Prof. Gesine Weinmiller, Berlin
  • Prof. Ivan Reimann, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Schmidt, Stuttgart
  • Heinrich Micus, Niederlassungsleiter des BLB NRW Bielefeld
  • Heiner Sommer, BLB NRW/Zentrale Düsseldorf
  • Gregor Moss, Beigeordneter, Dezernat „Bauen/Planen” der Stadt Bielefeld
  • Dieter Grömling, München
  • Eberhard David, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Bielefeld (CDU)
  • Ferdinand Tiggemann, ehem. Geschäftsführer des BLB NRW/Zentrale Düsseldorf
  • Dankfried Köttig, BLB NRW/Zentrale Düsseldorf
  • Dr. Karoline Friemann, Ministerium für Bauen und Verkehr des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
  • Michael Hoppe, Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Technologie des Landes NRW (MIWFT)
  • Prof. Dr. Beate Rennen-Allhoff, Rektorin der Fachhochschule Bielefeld
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Timmermann, Rektor der Universität Bielefeld, vertreten durch Hans-Jürgen Simm, Kanzler der Universität Bielefeld
  • Hans-Georg Fortmeier, SPD-Fraktion Bielefeld
  • Ralf C. Nettelstroth, CDU-Fraktion Bielefeld
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Riemenschneider, Münster, vertreten durch Gehsa Schnier, Prorektorin der Fachhochschule Bielefeld

Stadtplaner / Architekt:

Döll - Atelier voor Bouwkunst b.v.,
Rotterdam | Niederlande


Landschaftsarchitekt:
GTL Gnüchtel Triebswetter Landschaftsarchitekten,
Kassel | Deutschland